It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:51 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Arclite
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 5:57 pm 
Clan Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 282
Location: Ontario, California
Offline
I'm Arclite, my real name is Brian. I live near Los Angeles in Ontario, California. I am a damage prevention engineer, and I love my job. I'm self employed, and my clients are railroads, steamship lines, trucking companies, and insurance companies for the most part. I design loading plans for cargo, troubleshoot recurring damage, teach shippers how to properly block/brace loads, but the majority of the jobs i do i document cargo losses and determine the cause, then i work to mitigate the loss by recouping (salvaging) as much as possible. I also work truck wrecks for insurance companies, those jobs im on call 24 hrs to respond on scene. Usually the hardest part of those jobs is trying to prevent the fire dept, or the highway dept from doing anything stupid or from destroying good cargo. (for example, I did one job involving a tanker filled with rocket fuel, and when i arrived on scene the firemen were hooking up a gas powered pump to transload it. It doesnt take a rocket scientist to figure out that its not a good idea to pump highly volatile fuel with an internal combustion engine.)

I have been playing video games all my life, when i was a kid that sometimes meant riding my bike a few miles to 7-11 where they had a defender game. Here's some screenshots from some of my favorite arcade games, if you know what games they are then you are OLD...lol
ImageImageImageImage

I started playing FPS games online with the first soldier of fortune game, and i played UT but i never really got into it, at the time I was working alot and gaming only a few hours a week. When original crysis came out I was playing on system with a 9600GT and an AMD athlon 4000, and i was lucky to pull 35fps, but I was hooked. We all know that crystats is majorly flawed, but my claim to fame is I was the first player to max out the time played, and if you add my scores as arclite and -=DVC=-Arclite together I would be #8 on the leaderboard. I was a member of DVC until it was dissolved, and I was the leader of {MoD} after that, but starting a clan proved to be alot more work than i was able to devote, and when my system was stolen in November, 2009 {MoD} became a thing of the past.

My new system is about two months old, ASUS P6X58D mobo, i7 920 @4.0, corsair H50 in push/pull configuration, 6ghz DDR3-2000, 2-5850's in crossfire, velociraptor 300gb system drive and 750gb storage drive, in an Antec 1200 with a few extra fans.

I always have a lot of fun gaming with everyone in 760 and I look forward to alot more. I'm too lazy to resize a photo atm, here is a link to my myspace page. I'll post a pic in the next day or two.
http://www.myspace.com/arclite_

_________________
Image
Never get out of the boat.
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 6:46 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 3:06 pm
Posts: 1264
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Offline
Pictures of your PC man! Those specs of your rig are pretty damn amazing.

And you look nothing like what all your xfire IMings portray you to be. And your job seems like it has a bit of an adrenaline rush to it. :P

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:29 pm 
Clan Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 282
Location: Ontario, California
Offline
Image

Image
and heres one of my dog, ernie
Image

_________________
Image
Never get out of the boat.
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:33 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 3:06 pm
Posts: 1264
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Offline
I hate you. Your case has so much room to spare yet mine is crammed full with only half the stuff you have. :(

Anyway, your PC is simply ep|c!

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:49 pm 
Clan Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 282
Location: Ontario, California
Offline
lol, thank you. I actually wish i had gotten a different case, im not sure which though i like the silverstone cases alot. But yeah there's alot more room in a full tower than a mid tower, i had an antec 900 with my last build, and with 2 video cards and 5 hdd's i had very little room to spare.

http://www.silverstonetek.com/raven/pro ... 1&area=usa

_________________
Image
Never get out of the boat.
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 9:48 pm 
Staff Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 3:00 pm
Posts: 3268
Location: Shafter, CA
Offline
Thanks for posting your bio, Brian. It's always nice to put a face to the name. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 1:33 am 
Clan Member

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:29 am
Posts: 479
Location: Finland
Offline
Niice (and long :) ) bio and great specs! I'm not a fan if SLI or Crossfire configurations although I've never had one, could you tell me how well it works? Oh and could you please send me your case :mrgreen:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:03 am 

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:30 am
Posts: 752
Location: Ireland
Offline
Nice bio Arc, i have the same case so does 28 i recommend an SSD in the future :) there insanely Fast. The h50 is a good system i recommend checking for leaks every so often though caus mine crapped out on me and i had to replace the cooler.

@ Janat SLI gives you a good boost in fps i'm not sure on 3 way SLI ask Laz0r about that.

@ Talon get a new case lol.
( Antec 1200 is a good case )

_________________
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 3:35 am 
Clan Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 282
Location: Ontario, California
Offline
@ janat: I have had both SLI and Crossfire, my last system i ran 2 9800GTX in SLI, I have heard of people having various problems but i have never had any trouble. The second card adds about 2/3 more fps, give or take. I was concerned that heat would be a problem with my current build, the cards are so close together that it inhibits airflow. The top card runs about 10 degrees hotter than the bottom one but it hasnt been a problem so far, i have a fan installed in the side window blowing directly on them. Another issue is the cards cover all of the pci slots, the is a pci-e slot that my sound card is in (not in the pictures though) and there is a third pci-e X16 slot that is accessible but if i were to add a third video card it would mean the 2nd and 3rd slots were at 8x rather than 16x.

@ Phil: I wanted an ssd when i put this system together but i couldnt afford it, the velociraptor's performance is disappointing, it is only slightly faster than my 750gb caviar black storage drive.

_________________
Image
Never get out of the boat.
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:03 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 3:06 pm
Posts: 1264
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Offline
Yeah my next upgrade is going to be a very big one. Intel i7 Processor, Antec 1200, DDR3 Motherboard, and 6-8 GB of RAM. Maybe, maybe a GT400 card if i can afford it. And of course Windows 7.

But this will be a long way off, unless i get a job. Which im currently looking for. I think SLI is a good idea, although i have never tried it. My current motherboard only supports 2 way SLI.

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:46 am 
Clan Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 282
Location: Ontario, California
Offline
Choose your mobo wisely. I spent a good amount of time choosing mine and I'm not particularly happy with it. I've had msi, gigabyte, evga, and currently i have an asus mobo and in my opinion evga is the best. If your board supports SLI adding another vidcard is a cost effective way to add some fps as long as your psu has enough power. (the first time i added a video card i ended up needing a psu too)

_________________
Image
Never get out of the boat.
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 12:15 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 3:06 pm
Posts: 1264
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Offline
My psu is actually 30 watts under recommended for what I have now. :?

You don't like Asus? They are like my favorite company! My motherboard is from them and made me a happy customer of them. I only need a new motherboard because it is last generation and old.

I generally look at what I'm buying 10 times over, and I almost always make the good decision. Just old(er) equipment that could use some upgrading. :)

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 1:33 pm 
Clan Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 282
Location: Ontario, California
Offline
I have the p6x58d, i looked at mobos for days and got suckered in because this one supports usb 3.0, sata 6.0, and 6 core cpus, so i figured i would be able to upgrade and be happy for some time. I didnt figure out that when i had 2 video cards I would have no pci slots and I miss the evga support forums, the asus forums suck. evga support is so much better than asus is isnt even comparable. I will probably get another mobo in a few months.

_________________
Image
Never get out of the boat.
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 1:47 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 3:06 pm
Posts: 1264
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Offline
I agree, Asus tech support stinks. Luckily I have never had to use it. Although now that I think about it...is there a way to fix a dead pixel? My new Asus monitor developed a single dead pixel in the corner and I don't know if they are fixable etc. It doesn't bother me at all since it is only one and is out of sight, but I would of course like to fix it if possible.

You wanna give us a picture of your desktop?

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Arclite
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:49 pm 
Clan Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 282
Location: Ontario, California
Offline
yeah just push on it with your finger

if that doesnt work put ur finger on it, turn off the monitor, push down lightly, and turn it on

_________________
Image
Never get out of the boat.
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme Created by HOLLYSMOKE
pozycjonowanie